Skip to main content
«Past Winners

Sarah Brooks

  • Northern Debut Award for Fiction, 2021
Sarah Brooks

Sarah Brooks lives in Leeds, and is a member of the Leeds Writers’ Circle and the Northern Short Story Festival Academy. She attended the Clarion West Writers’ Workshop in 2012, and has had stories published in magazines including Interzone, Strange Horizons, and Strix. She won the 2017 Bare Fiction Short Story Prize, the Walter Swan Short Story Prize 2017-18, and the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize 2019. Sarah works in East Asian Studies at the University of Leeds, where she also helps run the Leeds Centre for New Chinese Writing. She’s currently working on a novel about an alternate history of the Trans-Siberian Express, and she is co-editor of Samovar, a bilingual online magazine of translated speculative fiction.

Back to top