Skip to main content
«Past Winners

Mari Hannah

  • Time to Write, 2010
Mari Hannah

In 2009, Mari acquired a top London agent at Blake Friedmann Literary, TV and Film agency. Soon afterwards, German rights were sold at auction. This was the first translation deal for the Newcastle/Northumberland-based crime series featuring the critically acclaimed DCI Kate Daniels.

Rights to her first eight books were acquired by Pan Macmillan. She has just signed new contracts with Thomas Dunne in the US and publishing giant, Orion, in the UK for books featuring DI David Stone and DS Frances Oliver.

Mari won the Polari First Book Prize for her debut, The Murder Wall, and a Northern Writers’ Time to Write Award in 2010 for her second novel, Settled Blood. She has twice been shortlisted for a CWA Dagger in the Library (2014/2017) and was longlisted for the Dublin International Literary Award 2017 for The Silent Room, a Ryan and O’Neil title. She has been nominated in the Journal Culture Awards 2017 in the ‘Writer of the Year’ category.

Her Kate Daniels crime series is in development with Stephen Fry’s production company, Sprout Pictures. She is currently the reader-in-residence for Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival.


Mari Hannah

Back to top