Skip to main content
«Past Winners

Gaynor Jones

  • Northern Debut Award, 2020
Gaynor Jones

Gaynor Jones is a writer and performer currently based in Oldham. She has won the Bath Flash Fiction Award and the Mairtín Crawford Short Story Award and was named Northern Writer of the Year at the 2018 Northern Soul Awards.

Her short fiction has been published in various literary journals and anthologies and her writing has been nominated for accolades including the Pushcart Prize and Best Small Fictions. She has been placed or listed in numerous writing competitions including the Anton Chekov Award for Short Fiction and the Mslexia flash fiction competition. She has created bespoke spoken word pieces for the Not Quite Light Festival and the Words & Music Festival and performed at the 2019 Edinburgh Fringe with For Books Sake.

Gaynor is also the founder of the Story For Daniel competition, launched to raise awareness of childhood cancer support and blood stem cell donation.

Gaynor is known for her strange, surreal, darkly humorous takes on contemporary life and takes inspiration from her Merseyside upbringing and her past employment which includes everything from care assistant to hotdog seller, though mostly she worked with young people. Girls Who Get Taken is her first full length work.


“As someone with no formal writing qualifications, who has come to writing relatively late in life, I can assure you that this award means the world to me. I struggle with self-doubt, as I know many writers do, and having this positive affirmation about – and support of – my work has given me faith that there is a place for my words beyond the scope of my strange and scattered little world. I cannot wait to get started on this programme of support from New Writing North and am so grateful for the opportunity.”

Back to top