We’re excited to announce this year’s Roadshows, open to anyone interested in entering a Northern Writers’ Award, or looking to learn more about writing and opportunities in the North. This year, we’re running themed panel events, held digitally via Zoom Webinar.

Monday 7 February, 6.30 – 7.30pm

New Writing North has teamed up with Arvon to bring you a Northern Writers’ Awards Roadshow event full of advice about developing that novel-in-progress. There will also be information about the Awards, as well as an opportunity to ask questions about submissions, and about Arvon.

Speakers include Hellen Meller, Co-Director at Arvon’s Lumb Bank in Hebden Bridge; writers and previous NWA winners Okechukwu Nzelu and Sarah Dunnakey; and NWA Young Adult Fiction Award judge and writer Liz Flanagan. The event will be chaired by Grace Keane, Programme Manager for Festivals, Events and Awards at New Writing North.

Register here


This Roadshow is open to young, established and emerging writers alike, and will take place via Zoom Webinar. Attendees will not have their camera or microphone on but there will be the opportunity to ask the panelists questions should you want to. The event will also be recorded and available to watch on our YouTube channel afterwards.

The Northern Writers’ Awards are produced by New Writing North with support from Northumbria University, Arts Council England and a range of industry partners. The awards support work-in-progress by writers based in the North of England.

For over fifty years Arvon has been the UK’s home of creative writing. We have three centres, in Devon, Shropshire and Yorkshire. Their residential courses and retreats, led by highly acclaimed writers, span poetry to playwriting, song to screenplay, fact to fiction, starting to finishing. The Northern Writers’ Awards Arvon Award offers a prose writer the chance to undertake an Arvon course. This may be either a tutored or untutored retreat, depending on what you think will be of most benefit to you. We are grateful to Arvon for their continued support of this award.