We are delighted to announce the winners of the Northern Writers’ Awards 2016.

The 30 winners were announced at a ceremony in Newcastle last night. 2016 was our biggest year so far for the awards, with over 1000 entries, so competition was incredibly fierce.

As always, we found an real wealth of writing talent in the North of England, and discovered many exciting writers that we hadn’t come across before. We look forward to working with all of our winners over the next year and beyond to help them achieve their creative ambitions.

For now, we hope you’ll join us in congratulating the class of 2016!

Northern Writers’ Awards


AB Jackson (Sheffield)
Amy McCauley (Manchester)
Mark Pajak (Didsbury)
Yvonne Reddick (Preston)
Shash Trevett (York)


Carolyn Jess-Cooke (Whitley Bay)
Melissa Lee-Houghton (Blackburn)
Benjamin Webster (Otley)
Clare Weze (Burton in Lonsdale)

Children’s fiction

Stacey Sampson (Sheffield)
Jessica Smith (Consett)

Waterhouse Award

Seán Hewitt (Warrington)

Arvon Award

Juliana Mensah (Gateshead)

Clare Swift Short Story Award

Deborah Buchan (Newcastle)

Northumbria University Student and Alumni Award

John Schoneboom (Newcastle)

New Fiction Bursaries

Vik Banks (Leeds)
Libby Carpenter (Preston)
Nicholas Graham (St Bees)
Andy Hickmott (Manchester)
Beda Higgins (Newcastle)

Andrea Badenoch Fiction Award

Lucy Nevitt (East Riding)

Channel 4/Northumbria University Writing for Television Awards – serial drama

Drew Hubbard (Gatley)
Jayshree Patel (Manchester)

Channel 4/Northumbria University Writing for Television Awards – children’s drama

Elizabeth Lomas (Manchester)

Cuckoo Young Writers Award

Kate Collins: winner (Wirral)
Jennifer Szandrowska: highly commended (Sunderland)
Isabella Sharp: highly commended (York)

Conor Robinson Award

Catherine Maw (Sunderland)

Matthew Hale Award

Amy Langdown (Cramlington)
Shana Nichols (Cramlington)