Skip to main content
«Past Winners

Toby Martinez de las Rivas

  • Newcastle Australia Residency Award, 2013
  • The Andrew Waterhouse Award, 2008
Toby Martinez de las Rivas

Toby Martinez de las Rivas was born in 1978 and attended Durham University where he graduated in History & Archaeology in 1999. He received an Eric Gregory award from the Society of Authors in 2005, and the Andrew Waterhouse Award and Australia Residency Award from New Writing North in 2008 and 2013 respectively. He had a pamphlet published as part of the Faber New Poets series in 2009, and was awarded an Arts Council Grant in 2010.

He has had work published in a range of UK, American and European journals including Poetry (Chicago), The Tupelo Quarterly, Poetry Review, Poetry London, Rialto and Ambit, as well as in a number of recent anthologies such as Voice Recognition: 21 Poets for the 21st Century (Bloodaxe), Lung Jazz: Young British Poets for Oxfam (Cinnamon/Eyewear) and Dear World and Everyone In It: New Poetry in the UK (Bloodaxe).

His first collection, Terror, was published by Faber & Faber in 2014 and his second, Black Sun, is due in 2018, also with Faber. His work will also appear as part of the Penguin Modern Poets series.

Back to top