Skip to main content
«Past Winners

Sean O’Brien

  • Northern Writer of the Year Award, 2001
Sean O’Brien

Sean O’Brien

Northern Writer of the Year Award, 2001

Sean O’Brien is a poet, critic, playwright, anthologist, novelist and editor. He grew up in Hull and now lives in Newcastle upon Tyne. He has published seven collections of poetry to date, including Downriver and November. His Collected Poems will appear from Picador in December 2012.

His book of essays on contemporary poetry, The Deregulated Muse (Bloodaxe), was published in 1998, as was his acclaimed anthology The Firebox: Poetry in Britain and Ireland after 1945 (Picador). His Newcastle Bloodaxe Poetry lectures, Journey to the Interior: Ideas of England in Contemporary Poetry are published in 2012. He has edited a selection from Andrew Marvell (Faber 2011) and, with Don Paterson, The Rest on the Flight: Selected Poems of Peter Porter (2010).

His collection of short stories, The Silence Room, appeared from Comma Press in 2008 and his novel Afterlife from Picador in 2009. He has translated Dante’s Inferno and the poems of Corsino Fortes. His plays include The Birds, Laughter When We’re Dead, and Keepers of the Flame. His translation of Calderon’s The Grand Comedy of the Prodigious Magician is to be staged in 2013.

He contributes to The Guardian, The Sunday Times and the Times Literary Supplement. Radio work includes versions of Zamyatin’s We, Greene’s The Ministry of Fear and a forthcoming Radio 4 documentary on Ted Lewis, the author of Get Carter.

Current projects include a new book of poems and a novel. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Selected publications
Downriver (Picador, 2007)
November (Picador, 2011)
Collected Poems (Picador, 2012)

Back to top