Skip to main content
«Past Winners

Kitty Fitzgerald

  • Time to Write, 2003
Kitty Fitzgerald

Kitty Fitzgerald is the author of four novels: Marge, Snapdragons, Small Acts of Treachery and most recently Pigtopia, shortlisted for the Barnes & Noble Discover Award 2006. Her theatre work has been performed in eight productions for a variety of companies, including Cloud Nine Theatre, York Theatre Royal, Northern Stage, Live Theatre, Quondam Theatre and Durham Theatre Co. She has also had four dramas produced by BBC Radio 4.

She has edited two collections of short stories for IRON Press and has just edited a new anthology for them called Root, which will be published in spring 2013.

Kitty has recently been focussing on writing short fiction. She won the Notes from the Underground/Latitude Festival Short Story Competition in 2009, has been published by Shortfire Press and was commissioned in 2012 by NWN to write a story for their Platform anthology. IRON Press are publishing a collection of her short stories – Miranda’s Shadow – in June 2013.

She is an experienced lecturer in creative writing and has done many residencies. Kitty has had a Hawthornden Fellowship and several other writing awards, including a Time to Write Award, which enabled her to complete her novel, Pigtopia. She has recently been given a Hosking Houses Trust Writing Award.

Selected publications
Marge (Sheba)
Snapdragons (Brandon)
Small Acts of Treachery (Brandon)
Pigtopia (Faber)
Miranda’s Shadow (IRON Press, 2013)

Back to top