Skip to main content
«Past Winners

Joan Hewitt

  • The Andrew Waterhouse Award, 2003
Joan Hewitt

Joan Hewitt’s first collection, Missing the Eclipse, was published by Cinnamon Press in May 2008. She loves giving readings and has performed twice at the Theatre Royal Newcastle, once with the Royal Shakespeare Company and with other regional poets. Venues include the universities of Newcastle, Northumbria and Teesside; North East libraries, Newcastle’s Blue Room; Colpitts Poetry, Durham; Dilston Castle; and Costa Poetry Café in Liverpool.

Her work has appeared in anthologies and magazines, and she has been placed in five national competitions, three of which were also international: the Ledbury, Sussex and Kent Open, and Mslexia. In 2003, she received the Andrew Waterhouse Award and a distinction in the MA in writing poetry from Newcastle university.

Two of her poems feature in The Body and the Book: Writings on Poetry and Sexuality and she has three in the Not a Muse world anthology of women poets, which features poets from 24 different countries. In the preface, poet, journalist, and short-story writer Laksi Pamuntjak refers to her poem Triangle in her discussion of the poetry of motherhood as a non-singular experience. She has a poem in 100 Island Poems of Great Britain and Ireland (Iron Press) and admitted to great pleasure at the alphabetical accident of her name being under Heaney’s in the list of authors.

Back to top