Skip to main content
«Past Winners

Carol Clewlow

  • Time to Write, 2002
Carol Clewlow

Carol Clewlow’s first novel, Keeping the Faith, was shortlisted for the Whitbread Prize. Her second, the bestselling A Woman’s Guide to Adultery, was translated into 15 languages and turned into a TV mini-series. A further novel, Love in the Modern Sense, plus a number of her short stories have been read on Radio 4. A version of the fourth, One for the Money, was performed as at the Edinburgh Fringe. Her last novel, Not Married Not Bothered, was also a bestseller and published in several European countries.

Also a playwright, she is a founder member of Operating Theatre, a ground-breaking theatre company producing drama on medical and health issues, and for whom she has written almost two dozen plays.

Back to top