Skip to main content
«Past Winners

Beda Higgins

  • New Fiction Bursary, 2016
  • Time to Write, 2010
  • Northern Promise Award, 2004
Beda Higgins

Beda Higgins has two collections of short stories published. The first, Chameleon, was chosen as a Read Regional Recommendation in 2011 and long-listed for the Edge Hill Prize. The second, Little Crackers, was long-listed for the Edge Hill Prize and the Frank O’ Connor International Short Story Award. Her poetry and prose has appeared in various anthologies. She is a qualified Psychiatric and General Nurse and has been awarded two Queen’s Nursing Institute Awards. She lives with her husband in Newcastle upon Tyne and has three children.


Selected publications
Chameleon (Iron Press, 2011)
Book of Ten (Zebra Publishing, 2010)
The Grist Anthology of New Writing (Grist, 2009)
The Poetry Cure (Bloodaxe Books, 2005)

Back to top