Skip to main content
«Past Winners

Penny Boxall

  • Northern Writers’ Awards for Poetry, 2019
Penny Boxall

Penny Boxall grew up in Aberdeenshire and Yorkshire, and holds an MA with distinction from UEA. Ship of the Line, her debut collection, won the 2016 Edwin Morgan Poetry Award. Her new collection, Who Goes There?, is published by Valley Press.

Her poetry has appeared in The Sunday Times, The Rialto, Magma, The Dark Horse and The North. After spending August 2017 as writer-in-residence at Gladstone’s Library, she has held residencies at Hawthornden Castle (Midlothian), Chateau de Lavigny (Switzerland) and Cove Park (Argyll & Bute). She won the 2018 Mslexia/PBS Women’s Poetry Competition (judged by Carol Ann Duffy), the 2017 Bolton Poetry Competition, and the 2016 Elmet Prize. She was shortlisted three times for an Eric Gregory Award and came second in the Jane Martin Poetry Prize 2014. Lights Out, her work in progress, is currently shortlisted for the Alpine Fellowship.


Back to top